Carol Matthews has worked as a social worker, community worker, and Dean of
Human Services and Community Education at Malaspina University-College (now
Vancouver Island University) between 1988 and 1999. In 1999 she was awarded
the Association of Community Colleges National Award for Excellence in
Leadership. She has a strong interest in the non-profit sector and in
community leadership. In addition to teaching and consulting activities, she
has served as a director on a number of local and provincial boards and
committees. In 2008 Carol was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Letters
Degree from Vancouver Island University (VIU). In 2012, was awarded the
Order of B.C. in recognition of achievement and commitment to her local
community, and In January of 2013, she was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II
Diamond Jubilee Medal.

After retiring from Malaspina, Carol worked with her husband Mike through Wayword Communications on a variety of writing projects and community initiatives. Together they travelled to many places, writing about food, wine, labyrinths and interesting people. Since Mike’s death, Carol has moved from their beloved Protection Island home of over 20 years to live in Nanaimo.

Carol’s short stories have appeared in a number of literary publications,
including Room,The New Quarterly, Prism and Grain Magazine, and she is the
winner of the 2017 Jacob Zilber Prize for Short Fiction. She has
frequently published reviews in Malahatand Event and has also published
articles in several educational journals. Articles published in the Journal of
Relational Child and Youth Care Practice were collected and published as
First Three Years of a Grandmother’s Life
(2006). A collection of short
fiction, Incidental Music was published by Oolichan Books (2007).
Reflections on the C-Word: At the Centre of the Cancer Labyrinth, a cancer
memoir, was published by Hedgerow Press (2007).
Questions for Ariadne: The
Labyrinth and the End of Times
was published by Outlaw Editions (2011). Minerva’s Owl: The Bereavement Phase of My Marriage was published by Oolichan Books in 2017 and a new edition of Questions for Ariadne was published by Oolichan in 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s